Don’t let go


I was over playing with my neighbor kid today. Kids really have a much better perspective on things. We we’re throwing a football back and forth. He asked me “Emily, If I was going to fall, would you catch me?” and I told him yes, I would surely catch him. We through the football little while longer. He got tired or bored like a kid does and sat down in the yard.  So, naturally I sat down next to him. “Emily?” he looked at me with his large brown eyes. “Yeah Vince?” he laid back in the grass. “Can we play tackle for a while?”

“Sure Vince.”

“Like pros Emily.”

“Okay” He took his first run and I wrapped my arms around his waist. Once we were close to the ground I would let him go so to not hurt him. We played for a while and he got tired again so we sat in the grass.

“Emily.”

“Vince.”

“How come every time you got me you’d let go?”

“Because I didn’t want to hurt you.”

“But, Emily. I could get hurt worse if you stop holding me.” Thats when it hit me. Like a freight train going one hundred miles per hour. Nobody wants to let go. “Emily?”

“Yeah, bud.”

“Promise you’ll never let go of me?”

“I promise.”

“Okay good. Can we play again?”

“Yeah Vince”

We played for a little while longer and I didnt let go. When I realized it was time for me to leave, he said the strongest words you can ever hear.

“Hey Em, I wont ever let you go either. Promise.” I was literally dumbfounded. He had just said to me what every human being looks for. He just promised to never let me go. To never fall short. He may not have realized it but I knew he meant what he said. If we could learn to live like that, even for a day we’d be happier. If we could all promise to never let go of the ones we love, the ones we hold tight, the ones we must protect, we would all be so much happier.

2 comments

  1. 2 words: that’s amazing.
    this is coming from a kid who was so extremely excited when you got him a pound of jellybeans for Christmas… 🙂

Leave a Reply

