These Next Four Years


“The next four years will be the best and worst of your life.”

Anyone who has ever entered high school has heard those words. They’re said ceremoniously over a microphone at an orientation by the principal. Those words give strange hope to incoming freshmen. All I can say is that I hope that this is not the case. I hope you don’t peak in high school, because if that’s the deal the rest of our lives is pretty bleak. Who actually believes that crap anyway? Who actually thinks that’s the case? I’ll let you incoming freshmen in on a little secret. High School, is not all it’s cracked up to be. It isn’t awesome and fun and super. Escpecially not for the weird kid. But hey, they don’t do orientation for the socially awkward. They should, ya know? It’d be chalk full of how to avoid stupid high school crap. That quote would go “The next four years are going to suck, but you will hopefully make it through unscathed. Good Luck, May the force be with you.” That’d at least sort of prepare you  for your life for a little bit. Granted, not all of high school is bad. Some of it is pretty fun. You just have to find your niche. I hope for you that your place is just as good as mine. I don’t mind being the weird, smart kid who rants on her blog. It doesn’t really bother me. However, I spent the last two years working hard enough to get myself a ticket to early college, half of my day will not be spent in the metaphorical cell that is high school. And I am pumped. So no, I am not that cynical. High school is okay. It’s not great,but it’s okay. Most of the time guys, we come out on the other side. Those of us who graduate with some semblance of adulthood or maturity make it out on the other side. We grow to be better people. We discover who we are. At least, I hope that’s how it goes. All I’ll say though, is that High School, like life, will only be as good as you want it to be. Good Luck, and May the force be with you.

One comment

  1. Keep on keepin’ on. Not original, but a good line. Keep up the good work, even though not everything is fun – just like the rest of life. On the other hand, you can make fun out of most things – not all, but most.

Leave a Reply

