I


People ask me a lot why I won’t be a writer when I grow up.

I never actually know what to say. I know that I want to be a surgeon. I know that I want to go help in a third world country. I know that I want to go into pediatrics. But, I’ve never been able to come up with a good reason for why not to be a writer.

I’m a good writer, not a great one, but good. I could write for a living. It’d be fun and easy. I wouldn’t have to get up at all hours of the night. I could spend the whole day in my pajamas if I wanted. Or I could sit in coffee shops and write until I can’t keep my eyes open any longer.

It sounds great, in theory. But, I know better than to think that I can write for a deadline or for any type of prompt. We know that sometimes I can update every couple of hours, days, or months. Writing gives me a good feeling, but it doesn’t satisfy one basic need. I need to help people. I’ll make a great surgeon. I’ve always wanted to just help people. The funny thing is, is that earlier in my life, I wanted to be a writer, but then I realized that all I want to do is help people. That’s the drive behind Sole Purpose. It’s the drive behind every compasionate or kind thing that I say.

So yeah, I’d probably make a great writer. I will probably write someday. But, it’s not my purpose. Writing is helpful to only a small group. All of the skills that come along with what I really want to do can help hundreds, maybe thousands of people who would have never had a chance. And that alone is worth it. That alone is the driving force.

One comment

  1. lots of good stuff out there about how writing helps you become a better practitioner…
    pallimed web site
    google reflective practice/ narrative medicine
    PULSE voices from the heart of medicine lots of residents and med students writing there
    google Gillie Bolton

    it all comes together….

    keep writing…

Leave a Reply

