A New Tradition


I used to read a lot. Not that I don’t read much anymore, but as my father so elegantly pointed out, I read trash. Which is depressing considering the fact that I used to be a very avid reader of classic novels and good news. So, I have started a new tradition. Every year, on the evening of Thanksgiving Day, I will write up for myself a book list. Now, speaking ideally I will be finishing up one list as I make another. That’s not the case this year, as this is my first go ’round with this whole mess. To fix this lack of book awesomeness in my life, I’ll read Harry Potter backwards until 2012. Then I’ll start the new list. Here it is, if there is something I’ve missed and MUST READ, leave it in the comments:

1) Gone With the Wind –Margret Mitchell (You will read the whole thing…)

2) The Glass Castle -Jeannette Walls

3) Pride and Prejudice –Jane Austen

4) Jane Eyre –Charlotte Bronte

5) The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe –C.S. Lewis (It doesn’t matter that you’ve already read it)

6) Martian Child –David Gerrold

7) A Farewell to Arms –Ernest Hemingway

8) The Last September –Elizabeth Bowen

9) The Sound and The Fury –William Faulkner

10) The Sun Also Rises –Ernest Hemingway

11) The Great Gatsby –F. Scott Fitzgerald (Also a reread, but it’s beautiful and you love it.)

12) The Grapes of Wrath –John Steinbeck

13) Little Women –Louisa May Alcott

14) Johnny Got His Gun –Dalton Trumbo

15) The Jungle –Upton Sinclair

16) Saturday –Ian McEwan

17) Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy –Douglas Adams

18) Vanishing Point –David Markson

19) The Girls With the Dragon Tattoo –Stieg Larsson

20) Great Expectations –Charles Dickens (Even though you hate Dickens)

21) The Strange Cas of Doctor Jekyll and Mr. Hyde –Robert Louis Stevenson

22) The Catcher in the Rye –JD Salinger (Again)

23) War and Peace –Leo Tolstoy

24) Les Miserables –Victor Hugo

25) Walden –Henry David Thoreau

26) Moby Dick –Herman Melville

27) The Scarlet Letter –Nathaniel Hawthorne

28) Vanity Fair –William Makepeace Thackeray

29) The Pit and the Pendulum –Edgar Allan Poe

30) Sense and Sensibility –Jane Austen

31) To Kill a Mockingbird –Harper Lee (Even though this will be the third time)

32) Catch 22 –Joseph Heller

33) The Hobbit –JRR Tolkien

34) The Time Traveler’s Wife –Audrey Niffenegger

35) The Kite Runner –Khaled Hosseini

36) Winnie the Pooh –AA Milne

37) The Da Vinci Code –Dan Brown

38) The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night –Mark Haddon

39) The Inferno –Dante

40) The Color Purple –Alice Walker

41) The Five People You Meet in Heaven –Mitch Albom

42) Tuesday’s With Morrie –Mitch Albom

43) Adventures of Sherlock Holmes –Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

44) Hamlet –William Shakespeare

45) Life of Pi –Yann Martel

46) My Sister’s Keeper –Jodi Picoult

47) Three Cups of Tea –Greg Mortenson

48) The Help –Kathryn Stockett

49) Things Fall Apart –Chinua Achebe

50) Charlie and the Chocolate Factory –Roald Dahl (You can’t even count how many times you’ve read this one)

So, yeah if there really is something else I have to read I will get around to it in the next couple years. If you want to use my list, go for it. You’ll be seeing the occasional post about these books. Actually, there’ll be around fifty of them. Give or take. Some may show up again next year, some may not get read this coming year. We’ll see.

4 comments

  1. Here are a few things I have read and seeing that you have a wide range of taste in books, I’d suggest them to you as well:

    1. The entire series of C.S. Lewis since you’re already going to start reading “The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe”

    2. Little Men by Louisa Mae Alcott

    3. Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery

    4. Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coehlo

    5. The Shack by William P. Young

    * Enjoy reading! 🙂

    1. Thanks for the suggestions! I actually own and have read the whole Chronicles of Narnia and find them brilliant, but they probably deserve a reread. And I have not read or heard of most of the others, so I will definitively add them to the list. Thanks for reading, come again some time.

  2. A few more suggestions: anything by Joel Rosenberg (The Last Jihad, etc.), The Left Behind Series (I have if you want to borrow), and number 1 – The Holy Bible from front to back. Enjoy!

  3. I am a regular readers of the blogs. I loved the recent one as well as other blogposts in your weblog much that I have enrolled in the actual blog’s Rss within Thunderbird. Even considering taking some concepts and put the right results. Maintain every one of the great all signs publishing much more helpful articles. Thanks. Period spent well about this submit.

Leave a Reply

